top of page

Squirrel Flower Shares Two Singles off Upcoming EP, a Cover of Björk’s 'unravel' and 'ruby at daw'

This past summer, Squirrel Flower released Planet (i), a love letter to disaster in every form imaginable. Now, she announces her Planet EP, out January 28th on Polyvinyl and shares two of its single, a cover of Björk’s “unravel” and “ruby at dawn.”



The EP is a compilation of self-recorded demos of songs that didn't make it to the record, two songs that were part of the Planet (i) studio session but left off, and a Björk cover. Williams’ hauntingly beautiful voice remains at the forefront, with instrumentation that’s both layered and minimal - acoustic guitar, twinkling piano, synth, and the ambient sounds of the city overheard in the background while Williams was recording. On today’s cover of Björk’s Homogenic standout, “unravel,” Williams highlights the iconic vocal melody in a blanket of reverb and fuzz. In Williams’ words, “I filmed the ‘unravel’ video by projecting open source footage of underwater lava cooling into rock over myself. I love the way the lava unravels and moves, looks like yarn, looks like a heart. It represents to me the tension and pain and exuberance of love.”

WATCH THE VIDEO FOR



The Planet EP is an intimate look at what makes Williams one of the strongest and most prolific songwriters of the new decade. “I've always felt that the pieces and process and secrets behind a finished record are the most important parts,” says Williams. “Most of these songs showcase my own production and exact vision, my first time in a long time releasing music that I've produced alone. Releasing this EP is an exercise in self trust and experimentation. Not all songs need to be precious and kept for the exact right time, not all recordings need to be perfect.”


In winter 2022, Williams will kick off her world tour. Following a lengthy run in the United States, she’ll bring her live show to the UK and Europe. Tickets are on sale now and a full list of dates can be found below.


SQUIRREL FLOWER TOUR DATES

Thu. Feb. 3 - Urbana, IL @ Rose Bowl Tavern %

Fri. Feb. 4 - Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe %

Sat. Feb. 5 - Hamtramck, MI @ The Sanctuary %

Sun. Feb. 6 - Lakewood, OH @ Mahall’s 20 Lanes %

Mon. Feb. 7 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe %

Wed. Feb. 9 - New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge %

Thu. Feb. 10 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair %

Fri. Feb. 11 - Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right &

Sat. Feb. 12 - Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA &

Mon. Feb. 14 - Washington, DC @ Songbyrd &

Wed. Feb. 16 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle - Back Room &

Thu. Feb. 17 - Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade (Purgatory) &

Fri. Feb. 18 - Nashville, TN @ The High Watt &

Sat. Feb. 19 - Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar &

Sun. Feb. 20 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern &

Wed. March 2 - St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill Duck Room @

Thu. March 3 - Fayetteville, AR @ George’s Majestic Lounge @

Fri. March 4 - Dallas, TX @ Ruins @

Sat. March 5 - Austin, TX @ Meanwhile Brewing @

Mon. March 7- Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress @

Tue. March 8 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar @

Wed. March 9 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo @

Thu. March 10 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop @

Sat. March 12 - Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall @

Sun. March 13 - Seattle, WA @ Barboza @

Tue. March 15 - Boise, ID @ The Shredder @

Thu. March 17 - Denver, CO @ Lost Lake Lounge @

Sat. March 19 - Omaha, NE @ Reverb @

Sun. March 20 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry @

% w/ Mia Joy

& w/ Christelle Bofale

@ w/ Tenci

$ w/ Maria BC

5 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page