top of page

IAN SWEET Releases music video for single "f*ckthat" and announces a North American tour




On the heels of what's already been a banner year, IAN SWEET (the project of LA artist Jilian Medford) releases a new single/video, "f*ckthat," via Polyvinyl, and announces a North American tour. “f*ckthat” is her strongest showing yet, and an exciting look at things to come as her sound continues to evolve with pop precision. Produced by Manitoba duo deadmen (Royal Canoe), Medford's voice soars in jubilant defiance over a pulsating bass line and four-on-the-floor stomp, sending its caller in question headfirst into voicemail. Medford elaborates on the track: "My phone causes me a lot of anxiety! I really only like to use it to take videos and pictures of my dog. This song is about not wanting to answer calls anymore and wishing I could just throw it out the window and disassociate from its evil/stress inducing technology." The self-directed video was edited by previous collaborator Will Duncan.


Earlier this year, IAN SWEET released her latest album, the triumphantShow Me How You Disappear. Its accolades include high praise from Pitchfork, NPR Music, The New Yorker, and more. In July, Medford released her cover of “Yellow” by Coldplay with an accompanying video homage that faithfully recreates the original. The release garnered widespread attention from press, and even minted the British quintet themselves as new fans.



In spring 2022, IAN SWEET will hit the road in support of Show Me How You Disappear. For many, this will be the first time to hear this collection of songs live. Tickets go on sale Fri. Oct. 1st at 10am local time and a full list of dates can be found below.


IAN SWEET TOUR DATES

Tue. Feb. 1 - Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar #

Thu. Feb. 3 - Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge #

Fri. Feb. 4 - Omaha, NE @ Reverb Lounge #

Sat. Feb. 5 - Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar #

Sun. Feb. 6 - Nashville, TN @ High Watt #

Mon. Feb. 7 - Washington, DC @ Songbyrd #

Wed. Feb. 9 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda's #

Thu. Feb. 10 - Brooklyn, NY @ Baby's All Right #

Sat. Feb. 12 - Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall #

Sun. Feb. 12 - Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz #

Mon. Feb. 14 - Toronto, ON @ Drake #

Wed. Feb. 16 - Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo #

Thu. Feb. 17 - Chicago, IL @ Sleeping Village #

Fri. Feb. 18 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry #

Mon. Feb. 21 - Seattle, WA @ Barboza #

Tue. Feb. 22 - Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge #

Thu. Feb. 24 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop

Wed. March 2 - Los Angeles, CA @ Echo #


# w/ Bnny

14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page